Pita Boss Food Truck

I’m not sure if this is just one of my hangups, or other people suffer from the same malady, but I envision food trucks as having exciting, gourmet, creative offerings. Pitas or salads, well, just sound too pedestrian to me and so I never got too jazzed about the idea of a food truck that just purveys these items. I can just go down the street to Pita Pit, Panera, etc. to get something just the same in a relative amount of time. But, alas, food trucks are the vehicle of convenience, so I wasn’t about to pass up the opportunity to forego fighting traffic and fending off odd stares at a female eating alone on her lunch hour.

The Pita Boss offers up some of your favorite, old-standby pitas/wraps/salads in pita form. They’ve chosen clever names for their entrees – all reminiscent of “bosses” of our historical past. As a Narcos fan (well, as a gangster fan in general I guess), I was immediately suckered in by their naming scheme (i.e. “The Pablo Escobar,” “The John Gotti,” and “the Bonnie Parker”). Their website tells you that they don’t always offer these selections, but it appears that these seem to be pretty available items no matter what. The rest of their menu includes what I refer to as “the munchables,” your typical snack foods. They offer up hummus and chips, dips, pickles, potato salad, and soups.

I do have to mention, before we get down to the business, that the interactions with the food truck folk were pleasant. The lovely gent “behind the counter” was beyond friendly and welcoming, and could answer any question I have. He was even so kind to make sure my order came sans a hated ingredient of mind…when I requested it five minutes after the fact (hey, it was a hard day at work already!).

Now – to the brass tax. I ordered the John Gotti because I am a sucker for lamb. The John Gotti is a gyro in wrap form – it has beef and lamb gyro meat, tzatziki, lettuce, tomato, onions, and feta cheese. The wrap could definitely feed the neighborhood. It was packed to the brim with all of the ingredients, to the point that I could barely make it through half of it (don’t worry – DJ Snugglemonster happily took the rest for lunch the next day). There was not much to complain about, other than perhaps it was a touch too salty given the amount of feta packed in there (hey, I’m a cheesehead though, so I can’t get too mad). However, again, my point comes back to the notion that it was just a wrap…there was nothing special about it. It served a purpose and didn’t really try to get creative. I guess that can come in handy when you are trying to appeal to the masses – especially the lunch crowd who wants something quick and easy.

That being said, let’s move on to my side item…because that is where I think the magic lies. I ordered the Beer and Bacon Dip as my side (hello, why wouldn’t you?!). I could definitely tell that it was homemade, which I always approve of. To give you an idea, it’s similar to an onion dip, but just with better add-ins like beer and bacon (of course). The portion was again, hearty, and served with homemade pita chips (perhaps a bit too thick for my liking). I could’ve made a meal out of that dip alone (partly because I’m a glutton). The beer wasn’t overpowering, but you could definitely note its presence, the bacon added some texture and salt without becoming too salty, and the creamy base rounded out the whole idea. I’d definitely order this one if you choose to eat off of this truck.

We are in the age of the food truck, and because of that, food trucks are needing to set themselves apart and stand out. Especially in Jacksonville where some of the food trucks are getting ridiculously creative (and tasty). It’s no longer enough to do the average. However, if you are going to stick with doing the ole stand-bys, then you have to be good at it. Pita Boss Food Truck definitely didn’t screw any of these dishes up, but they didn’t step out of their bounds either. If you, like me, want something quick and easy and the food truck is in your neighborhood (or you have a picky eater), I say go for it. And definitely get the beer bacon dip!

IMG_3760
Pita Boss Food Truck – the John Gotti
Leave a Reply

